Hampton Coliseum/Hampton Arts Commission

Formed in 2012, this City department manages the day-to-day operation of Hampton Coliseum and Hampton Arts (The American Theatre and The Charles H. Taylor Visual Arts Center).

Hampton Arts Staff

The American Theatre & Charles H. Taylor Visual Arts Center



Carena Novak

Arts Administration Manager



Arts Education Manager



Assistant Arts Education Manager


Keith Smith

Production Manager


Diana L. Blanchard Gross

Visual Arts Center Manager


Cody Latpakdy

Assistant Visual Arts Center Manager


Visual Arts Center Assistants

Emmanuel Johnson

Joy Wilke

Lynn Dowling


Front of House Managers

Lauren Paine

Shelly Shakur

Beth Williams

Meaghan Yesford



Terri Vander Vennet

Director Hampton Coliseum/Hampton Arts


Charlie Gardner

Assistant Director for Operations and Events


Valerie Clanton

Assistant Director for Finance and Administration


Rich Best

Senior Production Manager


Patti Peterson

Finance and Administration Manager (Payables/HR/Procurement)


Annette Crocker

Account Clerk III


Jackie Browning

Account Clerk II (Payables/Revenue) 


Julie Dunford

Finance Manager (Accounts Receivable)


Rebecca Hansen

Marketing Manager


Tatum McClure

Assistant Marketing Manager


Janell Nicholson

Assistant Marketing Manager



Box Office Manager


Michele Davis

Assistant Box Office Manager


Micah Garner

Assistant Director of Facilities & Operations


Stanley Webb



Matthew Shufflebarger

Food and Beverage Manager


Brian Ayotte

Assistant Food and Beverage Manager

Hampton Commission on the Arts

Established in December 1987, this Hampton City Council appointed 13-member citizens board acts in an advisory capacity to the Council to promote further development and awareness of artistic and cultural programs in the City and to provide a coordinated method of City support of cultural organizations and programs. 


Karen Ward, Interim Chair

Brian D. DeProfio, City Manager Representative

Derrick A. Brooks

Cherelle Cotton

The Honorable Eleanor W. Brown

Iris Goode-Middleton

The Honorable Michelle T. Ferebee

Aiya L. Williams

Thomas Cagley

Charles W. Winslow II

Rebekah A. Hill




Hampton Arts Foundation

The Hampton Arts Foundation is a 501 (c) (3) organization created in 1994 as the non-profit arm to support Hampton Arts. The Foundation has completed two successful capital campaigns in the past ten years to renovate, rebuild and expand the Theatre and upgrade the galleries.

Board Members

Steven Hussell, President

Karen Spaulding

David C. Bowen, Vice President

Merle Rivas

Letia Drewry, Secretary

Mark Duncan

Hansford Post, Treasurer

Dana Gray

Duncan Garnett, Immediate Past President

Denine M. Miller

Sheryl Crawley

Martha Mugler





The Charles H. Taylor Visual Arts Center Board of Trustees

In 1987, the Charles H. Taylor Memorial Library closed when the City of Hampton built the expanded Hampton Public Library right next door. After careful renovation and adaptation and adhering to the guidelines set forth in Mrs. Armstrong’s bequest, the historic building re-opened in January 1989 as The Charles H. Taylor Arts Center. The estate of Mrs. Armstrong owns the building and leases it to the City of Hampton which manages the day-to-day operations through the department of Hampton Coliseum/Hampton Arts Commission.


Debbie Scott, President

The Honorable Douglas E. Miller

Richard M. Bagley, Jr.

Dr. Jeffrey Smith, Superintendent Hampton City Schools

Sheryl Crawley

The Honorable Christopher W. Hutton